Wide Awake at 3:52 A.M.

3:52 A.M.

Friday, 19th of February 2016.

Still awake and watching Pitch Perfect 2. Actually, I am working at this time and since I have idle time, I have time to write this entry. 😀 I work as a design consultant (pina-char pero sa chat support ra gud!) for an American furniture company. Working from home may be a not-so glamorous job, but it’s very convenient for me and I am earning… a lot. 🙂

In a very competitive world I [we] belong, sometimes I pity myself and look down at what I have become (so far). Some people, who I regard as important people and very close to my heart, would ask me why I chose to work from home. I get scoffs, smirks and most of the time, I get those sayanga-aning-bataa-ni face. I would just smile as a way of responding to them. Trying to shake it off. The truth is, I don’t have a specific or a sounding reason at all that will satisfy them. 

Let me share something.

I had that one super huge job opportunity that I let go and I guess that was and still is my biggest regret in life. I want to work in a bank just like my mom. After my college graduation in 2011, I submitted application letters to almost all the banks in Davao City. I had three interviews that I considered major major interviews. But there was that one employer na parang pag-ibig, andyan na pero pinakawalan ko pa. That was my major heartache. One more step and I could have been in that bank working confidently with a heart. Wala’y char.

As the saying goes, everything happens for a reason, and I think I belong to this world of working from home. 🙂 I’ve tried a number of jobs — telemarketer, accounts manager, call center agent… even went out of my comfort zone and tried teaching! Grabe ba! I am still proud of my job, pero ako lang, nyehehe. Perhaps one of the perks I have from this kind of work is that I get to travel every now and then, since I can just bring my laptop with me. Although I don’t have the nakaka-proud job description, I still earn a good amount of money and sometimes more than enough to pay my bills. Even if I’m not in a corporate setting, I still have the chance to talk to people… virtually. Hehe. Of course, there’s a learning opportunity one way or another.

According to a quote, “Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” That’s true. In my case, it’s like the job chose me and I chose the job. Parang pag-ibig lang din, there’s always a second chance. 🙂 Now, let me stop myself from crying (pero joke langand feeling sorry for myself. I’ve got work to do and there’s so much more to life than being competitive. Haha! Good morning! 🙂

#HugotSaUmaga

2 thoughts on “Wide Awake at 3:52 A.M.

Leave a comment